West Bengal

    Bypoll results: "Won three seats held by BJP, held onto our own," says Mamata Banerjee

    Mamata Banerjee
    The Hawk
    July13/ 2024

    Kolkata: As the Trinamool Congress (TMC) won all the seats in the West Bengal Assembly bypoll, Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee said that out of four seats, her party has won back three seats that were formerly held by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and has retained one seat previously held by the TMC. "Among the four seats, three were held by the BJP, both in the Lok Sabha and in the Vidhan Sabha. We have won all three and held on to our seat as well. That means four out of four. I express my gratitude to our people for this victory," Banerjee said speaking to reporters in Kolkata on Saturday after her visit to Mumbai. Thanking people for her party's victory the Trinamool supremo said, "We are dedicating our victory in the Lok Sabha polls and Vidhan Sabha polls to July 21...Despite all conspiracy, on one hand the BJP and on the other hand the agencies, people have voted for us." Speaking about Raiganj assembly bypoll, Banerjee said, "BJP and Congress made us lose (from Raiganj) by using money in polls. Then I asked Krishna Kalyani to contest the polls because he was the MLA from the region. He accepted the challenge and we are grateful to people for voting him to power." "In Ranaghat, Mukut Mani was a BJP MLA like Krishna Kalyani. After he joined our party, we gave him ticket. He lost the Lok Sabha polls from Ranaghat maybe due to false campaigning, hatred and conspiracy by the Election Commission. But he has won the Assembly bypoll this time. He was a BJP MLA. Ranaghat is a BJP seat that has now been won by the TMC," she added. Also Read: https://www.thehawk.in/posts/%22modi-government's-betrayal-of-j-k-continues-unabated%22:-kharge-after-mha-amends-jammu-andamp-kashmir-reorganization-act [https://www.thehawk.in/posts/%22modi-govern ...

    Continue Reading