11 Legislators From Himachal Including 6 Rebel Congress MLAs Arrive At Rishikesh Hotel

    Congress MLAs Arrive At Rishikesh Hotel
    Inam Ansari
    March9/ 2024

    Rishikesh: A total of 11 MLAs from Himachal Pradesh arrived in BJP-ruled Uttarakhand on Saturday amid the turmoil within the Congress party in the state, whose government is led by Chief Minister Sikhvinder Singh Sukhu. A bus with Haryana's number plate arrived in Rishikesh's Taj Hotel today and the 11 MLAs, including six rebel Congress MLAs and three independent MLAs, were seen entering the hotel under a heavy security cover. Sukhu, while speaking to reporters on Friday in Palampur said, "Some MLAs are sad. They have been kept under CRPF security. Is this how democracy will remain strong? Horsetrading weakens the democracy." "I have just come to know through social media that they (rebel MLAs) were taken away from the hotel in Panchkula and a charter plane flew from Chandigarh airport. I don't know where it will land. This is because their family members were putting pressure on them to return," Sukhu said. After they abstained from voting on the budget following their cross voting in last month's Rajya Sabha polls against party candidate Abhishek Manu Singhvi, six Congress members were disqualified by Himachal assembly speaker Kuldeep Singh Pathania. Pathania had said that the six MLAs, who contested on Congress symbol, attracted provisions of anti-defection law against themselves. Those who voted for the BJP candidate Harsh Mahajan in the Rajya Sabha polls include Congress MLAs Rajinder Rana, Sudhir Sharma, Inder Dutt Lakhanpal, Devinder Kumar Bhutoo, Ravi Thakur and Chetanya Sharma and three independent legislators- Hoshyar Singh, K L Thakur and Ashish Sharma. The 11 MLAs landed at Jolly Grant Airport in Dehradun on Friday at around 2:40 PM, from where they left in a car towards the hotel in Rishikesh. The development comes two day ...

    Continue Reading