Mohan Charan Majhi takes oath as Chief Minister of first BJP government in Odisha

    Mohan Charan Majhi
    The Hawk
    June12/ 2024

    Bhubaneshwar: Mohan Charan Majhi took oath as the Chief Minister of the first Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) government in Odisha on Wednesday in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. The oath-taking ceremony was held at Janata Maidan in Odisha's Bhubaneshwar. Along with Majhi, two deputy Chief Ministers -- Kanak Vardhan Singh Deo and Pravati Parida were also sworn in. Odisha Governor Raghubar Das administered the oath to the first BJP Chief Minister of the state along with the deputies. Biju Janata Dal (BJD) leader Naveen Patnaik, who served as chief minister of Odisha for 24 years was also present on the stage. Also Read: https://www.thehawk.in/posts/tdp-supremo-chandrababu-naidu-sworn-in-as-andhra-pradesh-cm-in-presence-of-pm-modi [https://www.thehawk.in/posts/tdp-supremo-chandrababu-naidu-sworn-in-as-andhra-pradesh-cm-in-presence-of-pm-modi]  The ceremony also witnessed the presence of several high-profile leaders from the Bharatiya Janata Party including -- Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Union Ministers Rajnath Singh, Ashwini Vaishnaw and Nitin Gadkari, Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, Haryana Chief Minister Nayab Singh Saini, Uttarakhand Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami, Gujarat Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel, Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Vishnu Dev Sai, Tripura Chief Minister Manik Saha, Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Mohan Yadav and Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath were among the dignitaries who arrived in Bhubaneswar to witness the event. As Majhi arrived at the Janata Maidan, he was received by warm welcome from the gathered audience. He was also seen greeting the crowd. This is the first BJP government in Odisha after its emphatic performance in the recently concluded assembly polls, after ...

    Continue Reading