States & UTs

    UP Governor Urges Voters To Vote And Contribute In Making India A Vishwaguru

    Inam Ansari
    May7/ 2024
    Last Updated:

    Uttar Pradesh Governor Anandiben Patel

    Ahmedabad (Gujarat): Uttar Pradesh Governor Anandiben Patel on Tuesday casts her vote at Shilaj Primary School in Ahmedabad and urged the voters to utilise their right to vote and contribute to making the country a 'Vishwaguru.'
    While speaking with the reporters, the Governor of Uttar Pradesh emphasized on the casting of votes and said, "It is everyone's responsibility to cast their vote. The voters should use their right to vote and give their contribution to making India a 'Vishwaguru'..."
    Meanwhile, Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday also cast his vote at Nishan Higher Secondary School in Ahmedabad, Gujarat for the third phase of the Lok Sabha elections.
    The Prime Minister was welcomed by Union Home Minister Amit Shah when he arrived at Nishan Higher Secondary School.
    The polling started for 93 Lok Sabha seats across 12 states and union territories in the third phase of the general election on Tuesday at 7:00 am. The states and union territories where the elections are being held in this phase are Assam (4), Bihar (5), Chhattisgarh (7), Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu (2), Goa (2), Gujarat (25), Karnataka (14), Maharashtra (11), Madhya Pradesh (8), Uttar Pradesh (10) and West Bengal (4). The BJP has bagged the Surat seat unopposed.
    In this phase, more than 1300 candidates, including around 120 women, are in the fray.
    A total of 17.24 crore voters are eligible to cast their franchise in this phase at 1.85 lakh polling stations. Seventy-five delegates from 23 countries will see the poll process, the poll panel said.
    Voting will not take place for Jammu and Kashmir's Anantnag-Rajouri Lok Sabha seat on Tuesday as the Election Commission of India (ECI) has postponed the polling to the sixth phase to be held on May 25. Originally, voting was scheduled to be held on 94 Lok Sabha seats in the third phase.
    Prominent leaders to contest in today's poll battle include Union Home Minister Amit Shah, former Madhya Pradesh chief ministers Shivraj Singh Chouhan and Digvijaya Singh, Civil Aviation Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia, Union Health Minister Mansukh Mandaviya, Samajwadi Party leader Dimple Yadav, and NCP (SP) leader Supriya Sule, among others.
    In the 2019 general election, the BJP won 72 of the 93 seats that go to the polls today.
    The Lok Sabha elections are being held across seven phases, from April 19 to June 1. The counting is scheduled for June 4. The Narendra Modi-led BJP is seeking a third term in power, while the opposition INDIA bloc is aiming to wrest power by stopping the juggernaut. —ANI