States & UTs

    Oppn ZPM strides ahead, ruling MNF trails in Mizoram

    The Hawk
    December4/ 2023
    Last Updated:

    Mizoram Election Update: Zoram People’s Movement Surges Ahead, Challenging MNF's Hold as Counting Unfolds in a Close Assembly Race

    Representative Image Of Mizoram Assembly election 2023

    Aizawl: As the counting of votes for the 40-member Mizoram Assembly elections is underway, trends on Monday showed the opposition Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) leading in 27 seats leaving far behind the ruling Mizo National Front (MNF), which is ahead in nine seats.

    The trends showed the opposition Congress leading in one seat while the BJP was ahead in three seats.

    ZPM’s President and Chief Ministerial candidate Lalduhoma is leading in the Serchhip seat while most of the prominent nominees of the party were leading in their respective seats.

    MNF candidate and Chief Minister Zoramthanga was trailing in the Aizawl East-1 seat while most ministers of the ruling MNF were leading in their respective seats.

    The counting of votes for the Mizoram Assembly polls began at 8 a.m. amid elaborate security arrangements in all 11 districts of the state.

    Additional Chief Electoral Officer H. Lianzela said that initially postal ballots were counted and then the counting of votes polled through the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) was taken up.

    Over 4,000 officials, including women, were engaged in the counting process. These officials are posted at 40 counting halls under 13 centres in 11 districts, the official told IANS.

    Director General of Police Anil Shukla said that adequate security measures were in place for the smooth conduct of the counting process.

    Adequate contingents of Central Armed Police Forces and Mizoram Armed Police have been deployed across the state to maintain law and order.

    More than 80 per cent of the 8.57 lakh voters exercised their franchise to decide the electoral fate of 174 candidates, including 16 women.

    The ruling Mizo National Front (MNF), the main Opposition Zoram People's Movement (ZPM) and the Congress have fielded candidates from all 40 seats while the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is contesting four seats.

    The BJP has fielded candidates on 23 seats with a special focus on linguistic minority inhabited areas, especially where the Reang and Chakma tribal communities are in good numbers in the voters' list.

    Besides them, 27 independent candidates are also in the fray.