LS polls: West Bengal records 36.88 pc voter turnout till 11 am, Jharkhand at 27.80 pc

    The Hawk
    May25/ 2024
    Last Updated:

    With tight security, voting continues across 58 constituencies in six states and two UTs. Key seats include Delhi’s Chandni Chowk and UP’s Azamgarh.

    West Bengal Election

    New Delhi: West Bengal recorded a high voter turnout at 36.88 per cent till 11 am on Saturday in the sixth phase of Lok Sabha elections, as per the data provided by the Election Commission.
    Jharkhand also experienced a high voter turnout at 27.80 per cent as of 11 am, according to data released by the poll body.
    Other states where polling is underway in the sixth phase are-- Bihar--23.67 per cent, Haryana-- 22.09 per cent, Jammu and Kashmir--23.11 per cent, National Capital Territory of Delhi--21.69 per cent, Odisha--21.30 per cent and Uttar Pradesh 27.06 per cent.
    The approximate voter turnout across the country at 11 am was 25.76 per cent.
    The National Capital of Delhi has seen an overall turnout of 21.68 per cent till 11 am. Delhi's Chandni Chowk reported 18.55 per cent voter turnout, East Delhi - 22.41 per cent, New Delhi - 19.18 per cent, North East Delhi - 24.49 per cent, North West Delhi - 22.67 per cent, South Delhi - 21 per cent and West Delhi - 21.56 per cent.
    Voting for the sixth phase of the ongoing Lok Sabha elections is underway across 58 parliamentary constituencies spread over six states and two Union Territories (UTs) amid tight security and arrangements.
    The sixth phase of Lok Sabha polls includes eight seats in Bihar, all 10 seats in Haryana, one seat in Jammu and Kashmir, four in Jharkhand, all seven seats in Delhi, six in Odisha, 14 in Uttar Pradesh, and eight in West Bengal. A total of 889 candidates are in the fray.
    Voting for the forty-two assembly constituencies in Odisha is also underway in the sixth phase. Assembly elections are being held in the state simultaneously with the Lok Sabha elections in the state.
    All parliamentary seats in Delhi and Haryana went to polls in this phase.
    Some key seats in this phase include New Delhi, North-East Delhi, North-West Delhi and Chandni Chowk in the national capital and Sultanpur and Azamgarh in Uttar Pradesh. Jammu and Kashmir's Anantnag-Rajouri, West Bengal's Tamluk, Medinipur, Haryana's Karnal, Kurukshetra, Gurgaon, Rohtak and Odisha's Bhubaneswar, Puri and Sambalpur are some of the other key seats. Stakes are high for the BJP as well as for the Congress, Aam Aadmi Party, and other constituents of the INDIA bloc in this phase of the election.
    Polling has already been completed on 428 parliamentary constituencies for 25 states and UTs in the first five phases of general elections. Over 11.13 crore voters including 5.84 crore male, 5.29 crore female and 5120 third gender electors are eligible to exercise their franchise in the sixth phase of Lok Sabha polls. Around 11.4 lakh polling officials will be involved in conducting this phase of the election.
    The Lok Sabha elections will be completed on June 1 after the seventh phase of polls in which voters from 57 constituencies will exercise their franchise. The results will be declared on June 4.