Home > Indian Total News > Tamil Nadu CM Jayalalithaa constitutes 50 member-team for June 27 bypoll

Tamil Nadu CM Jayalalithaa constitutes 50 member-team for June 27 bypoll

Chennai: supremo Jayalalithaa today announced a 50-member team, including all 28 of her ministers as election in-charge for the June 27 bypoll to Radhakrishnan Nagar constituency, from where she is contesting to return as an MLA. Party's Presidium Chairman E Madhusudhanan and Treasurer and Finance Minister O Panneerselvam are among the 50-member team announced by the Tamil Nadu Chief Minister here. P Vetrivel, who had on May 17 resigned as MLA from the constituency and Lok Sabha Deputy Speaker M Thambidurai also find a place in the list. In a statement, Jayalalithaa requested her party functionaries to cooperate with the members and perform the poll-related duties to their best. Jayalalithaa was disqualified as Chief Minister and MLA in September last following her acquittal in a wealth case by a Bengaluru special court, which also sentenced her to four years in prison, besides imposing a fine of Rs 100 crore. However, the AIADMK General Secretary was acquitted of all charges by the Karnataka High Court on May 11, allowing her to return as Chief Minister of the state for the fifth time. She was sworn-in on May 23 and has to be elected as MLA within six months. Paving the way for her re-entry as Legislator, Vetrivel had resigned as Legislator of the Radhakrishnan Nagar constituency. Opposition DMK and PMK have already announced their decision to boycott the election, while the Left parties and NDA are yet to take a call. PTI

Updated : 1 Jun 2015 6:34 AM GMT
Next Story
Share it