Home > Latest News > 14 More K'taka Cong-JD-s Rebel Legislators Disqualified

14 More K'taka Cong-JD-s Rebel Legislators Disqualified

14 More Ktaka Cong-JD-s Rebel Legislators Disqualified

Bengaluru: A day before the trust vote on the B.S. Yeddiyurappa government in the Karnataka Assembly, Speaker K.R. Ramesh Kumar on Sunday disqualified 14 rebel legislators of the Congress and Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) for defying their parties whip to attend the House on July 23.

The 14 MLAs had remained absent from the House on July 23, when former chief minister H.D. Kumaraswamy put the confidence motion to vote for proving majority but failed to do.

"As the remaining 11 Congress and 3 JD-S rebel legislators also defied their respective party''s whip by remaining absent from the Assembly on July 23 when the motion was to put vote, they have violated the anti-defection law," the Speaker told reporters as one of the reasons for disqualifying them under the 10th Schedule, read with the Article 191(2) of the Constitution.

The motion was defeated by voice vote and division of votes on the insistence of then opposition BJP leader B.S. Yeddiyurappa.

Then coalition allies polled 99 votes in favour of the motion and 105 by the BJP against it (motion), in an Assembly of 205, including the Speaker and one nominated member, with 103 as the revised half-way for a simple majority. The 11 Congress lawmakers disqualified are Pratap Gouda Patil (Maski), B.C. Patil (Hirekerur), Shivaram Hebbar (Yellapur), S.T. Someshekhar (Yeshwantapur), Byrati Basavraj (K.R. Puram), Anand Singh (Vijayanagar), R. Roshan Baig (Shivajinagar), Muniratna (R.R. Nagar), K. Sudhakar (Chikkaballapur), M.T.B. Nagaraj (Hoskote) and Shrimant Patil (Kagawad). The three JD-S legislators are A.H. Vishwanath (Hunsur), Narayan Gowda (K.R. Pete) and K. Gopalaiah (Mahalakshmi Layout).

Three rebel Congress legislators -- Ramesh Jarkiholi (Gokak), Mahesh Kumatahalli (Athani) and R. Shankar (Ranebennur) -- were disqualified on July 25 for defying their party''s whip to attend the Assembly and vote in favour of the motion. Shrimant Patil was disqualified on a complaint against him by Congress Legislature Party (CLP leader Siddaramaiah and its state President Dinesh Gundu Rao) for being absent in the Assembly though he had informed the Speaker on July 18 that he was in a private hospital in Mumbai for treatment.

Share it